How to Delete Facebook

Share this:

Facebook has been a part of our lives for a long time. If you’re like most people, you probably joined the platform thinking it’s a great way to keep in touch with family and friends – and it definitely can be, but at what cost?

We have seen it in the headlines almost every week… The world has learned, via recently released internal emails, that the social media behemoth never had users’ best interests in mind. Facebook executives have been accused of NOT doing enough to protect your data; they cared more about making profits and achieving aggressive growth. And as we outlined in a previous blog post, Facebook’s apologies over the years have always been hollow, with empty promise after empty promise to do better.

So it’s no surprise that users – especially young people who care about privacy and data security – are leaving Facebook in droves. But there’s a difference between deleting and deactivating your account (which doesn’t actually delete any of your data). And what if you want to save all the photos you’ve uploaded over the years?

We’ve got you covered! Here are step-by-step instructions for how to download your Facebook photos and how to delete your account permanently.

 

How to Get Your Photos Off Of Facebook

  1. Log in to Facebook and click on the arrow at the top right of the page.
  2. Click Settings in the drop-down menu that appears.
  3. In the sidebar on the left, click on Your Facebook Information.
  4. Go to Download Your Information and click View.
  5. Click the boxes on the right side to add or remove categories of data that you want to download (e.g. you can select only Photos and Videos if you prefer).
  6. Select other options, like the format of your download request, quality of media, and a specific date range.
  7. Click Create File to confirm your download request.
  8. Your request will appear as Pending in the Available Files tab of the Download Your Information page. You’ll receive a notification when the file is ready to download (it can take several days to compile).
  9. When you receive the notification, go to the Available Files section.
  10. Click Download, enter your Facebook password to confirm, and the download will begin!

 

How to Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account

  1. Log in to Facebook and click on the arrow at the top right of the page.
  2. Click Settings in the drop-down menu that appears.
  3. In the sidebar on the left, click on Your Facebook Information.
  4. Click Delete Your Account and Information and read the prompt.
  5. Confirm by clicking the Delete Account button.
  6. Enter your Facebook password and then click Continue and Delete Account.
  7. Your Facebook account and everything in it will be permanently deleted after 30 days. (And if you need to cancel your account deletion for any reason, you can simply log into your account within 30 days and click Cancel Deletion.)

 

What’s Next?

Now that you have committed to #deletefacebook – how can you share your photos, easily and securely? Don’t worry, Amber has got you covered! Get the power of sharing without social media along with privacy and freedom of being connected Learn more about how you can take back control of your digital memories here.

Share this:

Follow Us

Enter to win an Amber One

Get Notified when Amber ships + exclusive product offers

Terms & Conditions

Thank you for subscribing.

close thin

Terms & Conditions: Amber Installment Payments

  • Cancel Anytime within the first 30-Days (Risk Free)
  • 6-Month Minimum Commitment thereafter
  • 24-Month Term (unit belongs to user after this period)
  • Extended Warranty Coverage During 24-Month Period
  • Priority Customer Support
  • Available in Certain Regions Only
You can choose to cancel your monthly installment of Amber anytime after the 6-Month Minimum Commitment by returning the Amber unit + $50 restocking fee. If you would like to keep Amber, simply pay the difference between $599 (Financed Value) less the payments made, before the end of the first 12-months.
Untitled-1